FMP: Proposal & Research

THE PROPOSAL


RATIONALE

Units 1-7 were a great chance to see what the UAL TV+Film had to offer. Giving the opportunity to work with a range of techniques and forms of media. Units 1-7 explored through making an advert to making an audio drama for the BBC. Each unit was different and was all about testing out equipment and getting to grips with the media world as the majority of people who have joined the course will go on to work in the media.

The things I learnt from the course is to not be too ambitious such as over enthusing everything and keeping it more realistic and do-able. The enthusiasm that everyone has for this course is brilliant to work with. To sum up, This course provides young people the chance to be creative in the world of media.


PROJECT CONCEPT

 A 1950’s Crime Drama focusing on the murder of a young woman, This 5-7 Minute short will be made as a teaser pilot to be commissioned by the BBC to be made into a full series or perhaps a BBC own feature film. This will either be filmed as live action or as animation it will be up to research as to how I will film it.

I will be looking into the art of TinTin, The police detectives Thompson and Thompson as they were inspiration to my characters, The British Guys, George Bennet and Hamish Williams. And as they were set in the 1950-60’s I would like to bring that to my film with dress, music and the feel all in mind. It will have the feel of a weak Film Noir style and language not suitable for those under 16. The reasoning behind this is that I wanted to try and make it gritty and intense all the way through hoping to hook the audience.

The equipment I will be using will heavily feature tie-mics for street and interior shots, I may also gain training with a Boom Mic just for some extra effect with sound and narration. The entire project will be filmed with my own Camera, Which is a Nikon D3200. However I may get another just for two different angles, so that I don’t have to film the same scene twice.

Locations will be varied between Exeter city central and my home town Tiverton, featuring Rougemont Gardens and the iconic Cathedral from Exeter and Wetherspoons and an abandoned multistory car-park from Tiverton.


EVALUATION

 The project as a whole will be documented via Video Blog (Vlog) on YouTube. I will be sharing what my idea is for the FMP, in which case is The British Guys, and how I will be filming, recording and researching it. The first of many should be up by the 15th April. The final Evaluation will be again, a Vlog but the questions given in the brief will be the questions of which I will answer in the video.


PRODUCTION SCHEDULE

The schedule below has been altered so that Half Term will be taking place in the week of 30th May – 3rd June. But the week will consist of filming and editing anyway. And Wednesday has not been filled in due to working and time. The same can be said for Fridays but i have only put things that take the least amount of times on that day.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 10.19.21


BIBLIOGRAPHY

This is a list of books, tv shows, films and websites that I will be using to conduct my research. However there may be more as time goes on. These are the main ones that I shall  use.

BOOKS
Guise, C. (2011) The Art of TinTin, New York: Harper Design,
pg 62 – 65
Gilling, D. (1997) Crime Prevention: Theory, Policy and politics, London: Psychology Press
pg 76
Reed, P. (2012) Fifty Fashion Looks that changed the 1950, London: Conran Octopus Ltd.

WEBSITES
http://filmmakeriq.com/2010/08/ultimate-filmmakers-guide-to-film-noir/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Night_Manager_(miniseries)

TV SHOWS AND FILMS
Luthor
Sherlock
The Night Manager

RESEARCH
TV SHOWS

For a particular research source I want to do crime drama TV shows. This can be considered as competition to my Final Media Project. – To see how they carry out intense chase scenes and gripping murders. I have chosen Three of my favourite shows to analyse and have them used for research as for my final media project which is a crime drama pilot. So by watching a few episodes of each hopefully it will give me a general idea of where I could put my film on the right tracks.
Disclaimer, All the shows that I am using for research is all from the BBC. Not being bias to ITV or anything. Just think they make more serious and gripping Crime Dramas.

LUTHER.
Luther is one of the most popular Crime drama on BBC One. It features Idris Elbas Police Detective facing challenges involving his friends, family, and co-workers. This show can leave a very powerful message to it’s audience. It is broadcasted after 9:00, which is also called watershed – this allows programmes to be explicit and hardcore as they wish, allowing Luther to be on. This show contains strong language, scenes of sexual activity and scenes with action violence. This show has had 4 seasons, each one consists of 4-6 hour long episodes with breaks in between each season for suspense, Many TV shows are taking this approach to keep the audience hooked. Elba has been awarded a Golden Globe Award and Screen Actors Guild Award for his performance in the series. The series’ are produced by Neil Cross, who got inspired by Sherlock Holmes and Columbo. Cross is no stranger to the BBC and the TV and Film industry. He is commonly known for his writing but he has directed series such as spooks and whistle while I come to you. And has directed two episodes from popular BBC shows such as Doctor Who. Neil Cross was born 2 September 1969. He is typically known for his scriptwriting and being a novelist. Idris Elba is hoping that the producers and the BBC will accept a green light for a Luther Feature Film. Focusing on the highest and hardest point in DCI Luther’s life. Neil Cross revealed on BBC Radio 4 in 2012, that at the end of Series 3 there wouldn’t be a Series 4 and tried to push it forward as a feature film however it didn’t get made so Cross fell back on writing a season 4 which got premiered on 19 November 2014.

SHERLOCK.
A modern day adaption of Arthur Conan Doyles super sleuth starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. This series is run by Steven Moffat who also produces Doctor Who, however has just confirmed that he is leaving and is being replaced by Chris Chibnall. The show has had 3 seasons and is currently filming its forth season. Each episode stands between 1-2 hours in length and each season consists of 3 episodes. This is one of the BBC’s most popular shows, alongside Doctor Who and it’s successful soap Eastenders. Sherlock deals with all the serials from the books originally written by Doyle, and the situations between the characters. The BBC has recently, well, if you class christmas recent, a Sherlock special where we see the super sleuth and the ex-millitant in Victorian London. This episode was very special to me because I really enjoyed how they portrayed it and how they made all the modern day cast turn into their victorian alter-egos. It really showed me how I could film The British Guys and how I could let my characters dress. As Victorian was my first era where I would base this short film.

THE NIGHT MANAGER.
This short 6 part drama  focusing on an Former British soldier Jonathan Pine (Tom Hiddleston) is recruited by Angela Burr (Olivia Colman), an intelligence operative. He is tasked to navigate Whitehall and Washington, D.C. where there is an alliance between the intelligence community and the secret arms trade. He must infiltrate the inner circle of arms dealer Richard Onslow Roper (Hugh Laurie), Roper’s girlfriend Jed (Elizabeth Debicki), and associate Corkoran (Tom Hollander). The Night Manager is based from the book/novel written by  John le Carré and then adapted by David Farr. There isn’t much to say about this BBC adaption as it’s a unique series, so it won’t be having a second series nor does it have much back story to fall back on other than the fact that it was adapted from a book. This show was filmed in several locations around the world from London to Morocco. Each episode was an hour long and kept the audience hooked at all times. So you must be wondering how is this research? – Well, one of the characters in The British Guys, Finch Armstrong, is working for Victor Torrence, The murderer. So I’m looking at hiddlestons character and how he can be suspicious and how he can give up his identity so that I can put that to Finch.

MEDIA PRACTITIONER

For the first bit of research into my FMP – The British Guys I’m required to gain some information on a practitioner. For my practitioner I wanted to choose someone who has produced/ directed Crime short or feature length films. So after looking for someone I have decided to research Brian Helgeland, (For those who may not know him, he directed Legend, the order and 42)

Helgeland was born January 17, 1961 in Providence, Rhode Island, to Norwegian-born parents Aud-Karin and Thomas Helgeland. He is currently renown for Writing, directing and Producing films. Many of the films he has written for has gone on to win oscars and several other awards. He studied English in University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, however one day he found a book about film schools and this made him change his idea for the direction of which his life could go. He then applied for the film school at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, as it was the only one that would accept him in the middle of the semester.

The first job he had was one that his agent had planned, he had booked a chance for Brian to go see director Rhet Topham about a new film that he was struggling to write about 976-EVIL which had Robert Englund portraying a Murderer with a claw for a hand, ring any bells? Freddie Kruegar. Rhet Topham went on to recommend Helgeland as New Line Pictures wanted to do a new A Nightmare on Elm Street film. Helgeland was paid $70,000 to do what would become A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master. Along with writing Nightmare on Elm Street he had co-wrote the screenplay for the major motion picture The Bourne Supremacy, for which he was uncredited for. Helgeland has been recommended by all sorts of studios to write their film or to step in if one of the original writers has dropped out.

A LIST OF HIS FILMS; Including Written, Directed and Produced.
1988 – A nightmare on elm street 4
Writer
1988 – 976-EVIL
Writer
1992 – Highway to hell
Writer/Producer
1995 – Assassins
Writer
1997 – L.A. Confidential
Writer
1997 – Conspiracy Theory
Writer
1997 – The Postman
Writer
1999 – Payback
Writer/Director
2001 – A Knights Tale
Writer/Director/Producer
2002 – Blood Work
Writer
2003 – Mystic River
Writer
2003 – The Order
Writer/Director/Producer
2004 – Man On Fire
Writer
2009 – The Taking Of Pelham 123
Writer
2009 – Cirque du Freak: The Vampires Assistant
Writer
2010 – Green Zone
Writer
2010 – Robin Hood
Writer
2013 – 42
Writer/Director
2015 – Legend
Writer/Director

TARGET AUDIENCE

For the third installment of the research brief is to research into your Target Audience for your chosen FMP. For this I wanted it to be gritty and dark, so my audience would be 16/18+ and would be shown after waterworks (9:00pm)
The research I did for this was a survey on Survey Monkey  that I had created and shared with my friends and family. The questions are below.

1] Which TV Genre do you enjoy watching the most?
a. Crime
b. Science Fiction
c. Soap
d. Drama
e. Reality
f. Game Shows
g.News

The most popular Genre was Crime with 44%, coming second was science fiction with 22%. So from the research I have gathered, Crime is the most popular from all the other categories.

2] If you could select one Period of time that your show would cover, which would it be?
a. Tudor
b. Victorian
c. Edwardian
d. Elizabethan
e. Current Day

The results I had got from this piece of research is that the majority of the people whom answered would prefer a modern day show compared to a periodic such as Victorian or Elizabethan.

3] Would you like to see TinTins two police detectives “Thompson and Thompson” own a mini TV series?
a. Yes
b. No
c. If they were smarter
d. What’s TinTin?
e. If there was a cameo from TinTin

The results that I gained from this one did surprise me as I didn’t think the majority of people who answered knew who TinTin was or the show/ books. But the answer I had got the most was No, which is understandable, and If they were smarter was the other high grossing answer. I concur from these results that I wouldn’t make my characters too much like Thompson and Thompson but to have them more intelligent and to not have them too centered in the pilot.

So – To conclude, the research that has been gathered here indicates that the audience that I am making The British Guys for would like a Crime drama set in modern day times with a possible cameo appearance from a man called TinTin. So I will set my Crime Drama to be set in the 1950’s/ 60’s. To show it’s period and some what close to modern day.

THE ORIGINAL IDEA(s)


LOST AT SEA

The British Guys wasn’t the first idea that I had, I originally started thinking about my Final Major Project back at the start of the course and what I would do, I wanted people to be moved and some what inspired from my film. So I was going to make a film based off of an article I read one time about a fisherman who went missing and 4 years later people found him. My also inspiration was from the film, Life of Pi.

Therefore, when coming to scripting and looking at it realistically, I gave up because it was too hard for me to do, being a new starter, I didn’t know all the tricks of the trade and what the FMP would even be about. So with the idea I put it to one side and left the idea of FMP till the time came.


THE SPECTACULAR SPIDER MAN

However, After the Tell a Story assignment given before Christmas, I started scripting a Spider-Man short film. Featuring Ben Harding as Peter Parker. While I was working on the script of “The Spectacular Spider Man” I asked James (my tutor) if it would be allowed to do that and he said yes but I should think about the audience of which I am making this film for. So with that in my mind, I read back through the script and was happy with what I had but with it being 16 plus pages long I just thought, no chance will this be done in under a year. It will be made but not for a college project.

So with the fisherman out of my mind and Spidey swinging in my thoughts I honestly had no idea what I was going to make for my Final, Major, Project.

The Spectacular Spider-Man


THE BRITISH GUYS

Until one morning where I was watching “The Adventures of Tintin” and two Police Detectives cropped up out of the blue and had me thinking, and also being a huge fan of Sherlock (the BBC series) I wanted to create a short film originally intended to be done in my own time featuring two police detectives who get along like best friends who come across a case that will test their friendship. But how would I do that? – Well after jotting down a few ideas for names and what they would look like I decided to start scripting George Bennett and Hamish Williams in “The British Guys” (ring any bells).

The script took me around about 2-3 months on and off to write, re-writing and re-formatting the script before I was given the brief. However, the script that has been written is only a first edit. And I can imagine not the last. With The British Guys I wanted to keep it short and punchy, but still managing character development and story to build up throughout the film. In the script I feel some parts could loose interest of the audience so I will be going over it again and build it up to keep the audience hooked.

Casting was the next big thing that I worried about, I knew that I wanted Josh Chiverton to be George Bennett and Ryan Gould (scene recreation: Sherlock Holmes) would play Hamish Williams. So those are the most important roles taken yay! – Unfortunately I contacted Ryan asking if he could participate in this project and at the same time he has his Final Major Project so he couldn’t do it, which is completely understandable, however, the next question was, who the heck would I ask to be Hamish?  

The character Hamish Williams; Tall, dark hair, skinny, side kick to George, Smart. That is the character and with that in my mind I was still thinking who I could ask, that I knew, if not I would have to host auditions for a film that nobody knows about. But when I was working my work college Ethan Jones fitted the character to a tea, so I asked him and he is on board for it! With the rest of the actors cast, I was all ready to film, well, subsiding pre-production paperwork.

Poster..


THE BOY

Now you’re probably wondering – What the heck is “The Boy“..? Well it is a confidential project that I was planning to do if “The British Guys” got cancelled. It features a young boy, aged around 10 to have schizophrenia but have only a dark side and his normal side. His darker side takes control of him and makes him kill his parents, and then go on the run. The film would feature how he is surviving knowing that he isn’t the one who killed his parents and that it was another version of him but he can’t convince himself that because of the fact that he is scared and alone and that his only friend, is his darker self.

This production is still in the works and will hopefully get made, not for anything maybe a film contest but I want to use this film as an experimental video, exploring new camera techniques and audio techniques that I could use for later in life productions.

the boy


So there we have it! The origin to how “The British Guys” are being made, it’s something realistic, not that ambitious and a fun and interesting story. And I want it to have some aspects of Film Noir but not too strong as there is no Feme Fatal and the antagonist won’t be who you would expect it to be. Hope you enjoyed this little insight to the creation of these two British Police Detectives and congratulations if you read all the way to the end!

LEGAL AND ETHICAL ISSUES

I have decided to look into the OFCOM codes because of the amount of things that I could be bought up on in my film, The British Guys. The list I have conducted are the things that are included in my film that I feel would make the film get reported; Blood, Gun, Swearing, Knife, Sexist References, Illegal activities eg. Murder.

http://stakeholders.ofcom.org.uk/broadcasting/broadcast-codes/broadcast-code/crime/
I have looked into the OFCOM codes, and looked straight away at section 3, which is crime. Due to the fact that my film is based on crime I was intrigued into what I could include or what I may get reported on in The British Guys. The rules to OFCOM’s crime section are followed;

3.1
Material likely to encourage or incite the commission of crime or to lead to disorder must not be included in television or radio services.

3.2
Descriptions or demonstrations of criminal techniques which contain essential details which could enable the commission of crime must not be broadcast unless editorially justified.

3.3
No payment, promise of payment, or payment in kind, may be made to convicted or confessed criminals whether directly or indirectly for a programme contribution by the criminal (or any other person) relating to his/her crime/s. The only exception is where it is in the public interest.

3.4 
While criminal proceedings are active, no payment or promise of payment may be made, directly or indirectly, to any witness or any person who may reasonably be expected to be called as a witness. Nor should any payment be suggested or made dependent on the outcome of the trial. Only actual expenditure or loss of earnings necessarily incurred during the making of a programme contribution may be reimbursed.

3.5
Where criminal proceedings are likely and foreseeable, payments should not be made to people who might reasonably be expected to be witnesses unless there is a clear public interest, such as investigating crime or serious wrongdoing, and the payment is necessary to elicit the information. Where such a payment is made it will be appropriate to disclose the payment to both defense and prosecution if the person becomes a witness in any subsequent trial.

3.6
Broadcasters must use their best endeavors so as not to broadcast material that could endanger lives or prejudice the success of attempts to deal with a hijack or kidnapping.

http://stakeholders.ofcom.org.uk/broadcasting/broadcast-codes/broadcast-code/harm-and-offence/
Another section that I was intrigued to look into was the Harm and Offence section. Which may apply to me as 3 people in the film get hurt and 1 other, gets killed. Again, the rules are told below.

2.4
Programmes must not include material (whether in individual programmes or in programmes taken together) which, taking into account the context, condones or glamorizes violent, dangerous or seriously antisocial behavior and is likely to encourage others to copy such behavior.

2.5
Methods of suicide and self-harm must not be included in programmes except where they are editorially justified and are also justified by the context. 

The British Guys, from what I found out will be toned down on the language aspect and that there won’t be that much violence to what there would be. The ending originally had a lot of blood however there will now only be a tiny bit in the beginning. However much I would like to make it gritty and gory, I have to keep this project, the final project, realistic as from what I have learnt from my Tell A Story brief – Don’t get too ambitious.

My film is not being made/ intend to harm or offend anybody who may watch this, this is being purely made as if it was a mini pilot that would be handed over to the BBC to make into a series, the direction of which they could go with that is to be decided in time but for now, I am looking at all this research trying not to harm anyone.

MONEY AND LOCATIONS

The British Guys is a short production and won’t require that big of a budget, I’m asking my actors if they have some of the supplies that I require such as, costumes or props. The film itself is aimed for 5-7 minutes in length and the only things that would require money is travel. All equipment is either sourced by myself or by the college so I won’t need to buy anything in that area.

Location wise, I will be using a total of 5 locations. All of which is being used in Exeter city centre as it’s easier for everyone who is in the film as they all go to Exeter college. The main location that I will be using is Rougemont Gardens as that is where the murder scene takes place and the visual investigation. The only thing that I am concerned about is weather and if it’s going to be windy and if that will effect the mic from picking up wind. However, I may ask to record lines over the top and layer them in after effects and try to make it seem like they’re outside. But hopefully I’ll try and get training with a tie mic so I will have some experience with them and also I may consider on using a boom mic and attach it to my camera.

The majority of locations that I have used are all outside there is one that is inside. Although, the ones outside are pretty far away from any roads/ traffic, it’ll just be the general public that may effect recording. This will all be explained in my pre-production paperwork. Location lighting may be an issue due to I want the murder scene to be filmed at night, and the problems with that is that my actors may not be able to come out due to it being so late. The rest of the scenes are during day time so lighting shouldn’t be an issue, However I’m hoping weather will be on my side on day.

BRITAIN IN 1960

beatles-abbey-road-650

If the Fifties were in black and white, then the Sixties were in Technicolor. The ‘Swinging Sixties’ remain the defining decade for Britain. In ten years, London had transformed from the dirt and rubble of collapsed buildings to a proud and strong standing city, full of freedom and a sense of hope. The 1960’s was a difficult time due to the fact that it was only a few years after the Second World War (WWII). When the 1960’s arrived, it was accepted for teenagers to have a voice and freedom to do what they wanted. The parents of the 60’s had spent most of their youth fighting for their lives in the War and wanted their own children to enjoy the childhood that they were aloud. By the early 1960’s, Young People, teenagers, were already different to those of the 50’s.

If someone came up to you in the street and asked you “what’s the first thing you think when I say Britain 1960” I’m sure the main majority would bring up the uprising of music. Although rock and roll began having an effect on Britain in the 1950s, it wasn’t until the early Sixties and the birth of the ‘British Invasion’ groups like The Beatles, made music change society as a whole.

The Beatles are an excellent example of how music influenced the lives of teenagers. Although they continued the rock and roll genre of the 1950’s for the early part of the decade, by 1967, The Beatles’ music had inspired other musicians, such as The Beach Boys and The Rolling Stones, to experiment with new sounds and develop innovative pieces of music. Their later albums included lyrics encouraging rebellion against the authorities, as seen in ‘Revolution’. Young people began to stand up for their beliefs and their individuality. Alongside Music that bought the 60’s to life, it was also the beginning of freedom for drug use. Images of the Woodstock festival show people high on marijuana and LSD, dancing in fields with paint on their face and their hair flowing free. It was very difficult for anyone in show business to avoid becoming involved in drugs in some way and as easily influenced young people looking for fun, many were encouraged to follow their idols and take harmful drugs. LSD made people feel happy and optimistic and helped bring about the ‘hippie’ movement. The ‘Yellow Submarine’ film was created because of the colours, pictures and music that represents society in the 60’s.

Beatles

Britain wasn’t involved much in the Vietnam War, however British Musicians such as John Lennon bought it to the minds of the public through protests against the fighting. Several songs made people see the horrors and pointlessness of war and fans followed their idols to pursue peace and freedom. This is where the name ‘hippie’ came along, this made people begin to think and question authority, the government. Something that wouldn’t be heard of in the 1950’s. A grouping of sex, spies and government, named The Profumo Affair captured the public’s attention in 63.  The Secretary for War John Profumo was discovered to be having an affair with a woman who was also seeing a Russian military attaché. He later resigned to the house of commons for lying about the affair, the affair changed the relationship and trust between the public and government. The traditional deference to figures of authority was now gradually being replaced by suspicion and mistrust.

Woman Clothing changes;
Fashion in the decade mirrored many of the social changes of the Sixties. Mary Quant became famous for popularising the mini skirt which became the epitome of 1960s fashion. The mini was designed to be free and liberating for women, allowing them to “run and jump”. Her fashion designs used simple geometric shapes and colours which gave women a new kind of femininity. Women were free to wear more playful, youthful clothes that would have seemed outrageous ten years before. By the late Sixties, psychedelic prints and vibrant colours began appearing on clothes as the hippie movement gathered pace.

The 1960’s was a time for the rise of the Woman, as they had more freedom and there were more jobs for them, this allowed them to move away from the typical house wife into a more independent person. The contraceptive pill became legalised for all women in 1967 and gave them more opinion than what it was a decade before, which was motherhood and marriage. In 1968, 850 Women went on strike at a Ford factory in Dagenham, protesting for equal pay with their male colleagues. This action resulted in the passing of the Equal Pay Act of 1970. Furthermore, women were becoming increasingly involved in politics. For example, in 1968, Barbara Castle became the first and only woman to be appointed First Secretary of State and women began finding a voice in society and the running of the country.

Technological changes of the 1960s changed how people spent their own time. The increase in employment in factories and increase in money allowed people to spend more on leisure activities. Colour television and pocket radios, the walkman, allowed people to spend their free time listening to music and watching TV. Every teenager owned a walkman, allowing them to listen to pop music on the move. The microwave shortened the amount of time women spent in the kitchen, further allowing them more freedom and time to enjoy themselves.

By the end of the decade, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin achieved the impossible by becoming the first men on the moon in 1969. It ended the decade on a note of optimism and the ability to dream for something bigger and better. The 1960s was a decade of rapid change. It was the period that finally allowed people the liberty and individuality people had fought for and what we take for granted nowadays. The sixties began bleak and restricted, but by the end, people were full of hope and optimism for a better future. Without the ‘swingin sixties’ I’m sure we wouldn’t be where we are today.

BRICK AND FILM NOIR

Because my film is set in the 1950/60’s I wanted to give it a feeling of film noir, have it dark, a bit gritty and follow the basic principals, Where there is a detective, who discovers a murder. Who then goes on to meet the bad guy and it ends. That is a basic basic telling of film noir. This post will all be about the film world of Film Noir and will be getting/ gathering notes from the 2005 film ‘Brick’.


FILM NOIR

Film noir is a genre of film that existed from 1940 till the late 1950’s. It is a German style of filming and is typically filmed in black and white. The Film Noir Characters include;
A detective
A king-pin/ Mob-boss
A femme fatal
A person who has been murdered

Each one of these characters play important roles. The detective is always the main character in Film Noir and is always the protagonist. He is the one who finds the dead body of typically a young woman and begins the hunt for her killer. He always gets into the dirty situations and will do what ever he can to find the murderer of the young woman. And to possibly find the antagonist. Film Noir features guns, violence, sometimes swearing and sexual content.

The Femme Fatal is the one to help give information to the detective about the murderer, but there is always a price. She will typically come onto the detective, seducing him. A great example of this would be DC’s Batman. The relationship between Batman and Catwoman is the same as Femme Fatal and Detective. He will try to find her to gather information about the king pin, which is typically the Joker. It’s the same. The detective and the feme fatal may have a relationship but it wouldn’t be love. It’d be sexual.

A King Pin/ Mob Boss’ role in the Film Noir world is to own the streets and be the big man. I know I keep referring to comics but again, the best example I can give is in Daredevil, the king pin owns the street and if anyone has a problem he is the one to deal with it. He is usually a big bloke with a lot of hench men. And finally we have the The side kick, well, the guy with the brains is important because he provides information and can work out riddles and clues left by either the victim or king pin/ mob boss. He is typically known for helping out the Detective on his journey for solving the impossible questions.

So that was the characters, now for how films were filmed and lit on set. Films back in the 1950’s were still in black and white, it wasn’t until late 1960’s that technology became more advanced and films began to be shot in colour. So this made film noire a lot more impactful and serious, meaning you could have a dark setting with only a street lamp and with only black and white it would be a lot more darker and ‘mysterious’ – Lighting of ra film noire film involved no major lights such as the sun, the majority of it was all filmed at night, allowing the more cynical side of the world come out. only street lamps, table lamps, ceiling lights and torches were used. The characters were usually half in the dark half coming out, keeping themselves somewhat hidden to the real world. And the general tone of any Film Noire film is dark and gritty and can be very brutal.


FILM ANALYSIS; BRICK

 For research into the Film Noire genre I watched the film ‘Brick’. I watched this film to take notes and to look at how an old genre that faded away had been turned into a recent, modern day film. The notes I took are only in words however I do remember the scenes and will bring each and every one of them into more depth, the list below are the notes that I had taken;

Film Noire, Keep it dark, Interesting music, Feme fatal, Mysterious, Low angles, Cross fade, Love romance, Suspense, Gloomy, Missing person, Tracking shot, Drugs?, Smoking?, Detective, Protagonist, Antagonist, Slow motion, Time lapse, Blood, Violence, Fight sequence, Transition side on, Focus, Sex?, Running, Death, Anger, Grief, Happiness, Clues

The words highlighted in Black are the ones that I believe are the most key to making a film based on the genre of Film Noire. As the genre is loosely based around a Detective story these words, I believe are the key elements to making a Detective Story. Brick really taught me how to shoot a film with this particular genre and how the detective(s) should be played out throughout the story line. I really enjoyed this film and to anyone who likes DC comics or fancy a crime drama I would recommend this film, It may be a bit puzzling and confusing at the beginning but it is entirely worth a watch.

Film Noire is a genre of film that is very rarely seen nower days, I think that instead of films being made like this it’s being reserved and just being kept for after 9o’clock Television, enticing more of its broad audiences and telling different narratives to save making a complete series or saga based on these stories. The closest way of seeing Film Noire on the big screen is to watch a DC based film, most commonly Batman.

The next post will be about the test footage that has been conducted for the final film.

TINTIN
THOMSON AND THOMPSON

You’ve probably gathered that The British Guys are somewhat like the 2 twins from The Adventures of Tintin, well they are what inspired me to make the 5-7 minute crime drama. They may be thick and intellectually challenged however thats what makes them good and charismatic and stand out from the rest. Thomson and Thompson are fictional characters in The Adventures of Tintin, the comics series by Belgian cartoonist Hergé. They are two incompetent detectives who provide much of the comic relief throughout the series. While the two are apparently unrelated as they have different surnames, they look like identical twins whose only discernible difference is the shape of their moustaches. They are afflicted with chronic spoonerisms, are extremely clumsy, thoroughly clueless, and usually bent on arresting the wrong character. In spite of this, they somehow get entrusted with delicate missions.

WHO IS WHO?
The detective with the flared, pointy moustache is Thomson, who often describes himself as “Thomson, without a ‘P” (as in Venezuela). The other detective with the flat moustache has described himself as “Thompson, with a ‘P” (as in psychology) – using words with either a silent “P” or in which the “P” is combined with another letter, losing the “P” sound. Thomson and Thompson usually wear bowler hats and carry walking sticks, except when abroad: during these missions they insist on wearing the stereotypical costume of the country they are visiting so that they blend into the local population, but instead manage to dress in folkloric attire that actually makes them stand apart. The detectives were in part based on Hergé’s father and uncle, identical twins who wore matching bowler hats while carrying matching walking sticks.

Both bouncing off of each others jokes made the audience love them so much. I know that they were always going to be my favourite characters, well, aside from snowy but that may purely be because of the fact I’m a major dog lover, but that’s beside the point. The reason these two inspired me is because I would just love to see a show a bit like that on TV after water shed, featuring a couple of detectives like that only a bit more smarter, and a bit more darker. The overall tone and feeling to Tin Tin, especially the ‘recent’ movie had that dark aspect but still contain that light atmosphere throughout the film. That is something I would like to aim for in my film however judging by the script I feel that is not possible, In the old version I wrote it so that you could see more of George and Hamishes friendship but then again, leaving it at a cliff hanger is just as good.

To sum up, Thomson and Thompson are a pure inspiration and barely conspire to George and Hamish, I’ve loved them a lot with all their wise cracks and dry wit and I love the tone of Tin Tin and aiming to put that in my film. The next post will be about Film Noire and the 2005 film, BRICK.

EVALUATION

The research conducted helped me develop my idea for The British Guys and to allow me to dig deeper into the whole feeling of the 1950/60’s. This has also allowed me to think a bit more about my two protagonists, George Bennett and Hamish Williams, and their friendship being partly inspired from Men In Black. I have conducted a mini questionnaire and that did help because it allowed me to see what people would like to appear on BBC. The most popular genre of show was Crime Drama. I have decided to set my film back in the 1950/60’s to try and see if I can do a somewhat periodic drama. I am also conducting more research into TinTin, because of the two police detectives Thompson and Thompson. Alongside that I will be heavily researching into the clothing, life style and how films were made and lit in the 1950/60’s. The reason I chose this era is due to the fact that making a modern day police drama would require a lot of police men and I may need to hire or borrow a police car for more effect and when I watch BBC and ITV shows there aren’t many periodic crime dramas, subsiding Sherlock. I want to give periodic dramas a chance and possibly a break from everything.

The research I did has helped me develop ideas further into the British Guys and has allowed me to think into new angles and dynamic film noir storylines. One of the films that I will be watching to help look into Film Noir is ‘Brick’ from 2005. It features a young detective looking for the murderer of his ex-girlfriend. And looking at the characteristics of TinTins Thompson and Thompson, really helped how I can bring that into my two characters but make them somewhat more intelligent and charismatic than those who inspired me to make this short film. Also with heavy research into the time period that I’m planning on filming in its had an impact of how I look at my locations, to see if it would look like it did 50 years ago. And the locations that I have chosen I believe have met that criteria and are allegable for filming with ease of getting there for all cast and crew.
I’ve Looked at work that my chosen practioner has done, script work and directing work and have increased my skills on writing a script just like how many do it for a feature film or television show.

All in all, or to wrap up all my research that has been conducted, it has really propelled me into the film and I believe with all pre-production done and ready to film I should put all these skills into the film and providing all my cast arrive, it should be the hardest, best, and fun film I’ve made to date.

Leave a Reply

